Legislative Autonomy: AKHA PASAN thanks Buhari, hail Speaker Onofiok Luke


Legislative Autonomy: AKHA PASAN thanks Buhari, hail Speaker Onofiok Luke
Members of Parliamentary Staff Association of Nigeria, Akwa Ibom state House of Assembly branch, have expressed gratitude to Speaker Onofiok Luke and members of the state legislature who voted in support of legislative autonomy for states during the last constitution amendment exercise.
Recall that President Muhammadu Buhari on Friday signed into law alteration 4 of the amendment bill which gives autonomy to state legislatures of Nigeria.
At a brief solidarity rally in the House of Assembly on Monday, PASAN members hailed the 6th assembly for being on the right side of history by voting for legislative autonomy during the last constitution amendment exercise.
In his address, the Chairman of PASAN, Comrade Etinwa Etim said “We have been going around celebrating this legislative autonomy. We thank Our President, Muhammadu Buhari for signing this bill and we thank the national assembly and state assemblies for their efforts. Above all, we want to thank our amiable speaker for his courage; we thank members of this house of assembly who voted in line with what PASSAN and stakeholders wanted them to vote during the public hearing.”

READ ALSO:  Nigeria overdue for restructuring – CAN chief

Speaker Luke of Nsit Ubium state constituency and 12 other members of the House voted in February this year in support of autonomy for state legislatures.
The 12 members include Ime Okon of Ibiono Ibom, Udo Kieran Akpan of Oruk Anam, Usoro Akpanusoh of Ibeno Esit Eket, Idongesit Ituen of Itu, Samuel Ufuo of Mbo, Nse Ntuen of Essien Udim, Emmanuel Bassey of Ini, Friday Iwok of Abak, Gabriel Toby of Ika/Etim Ekpo, Otobong Jonathan of Mkpat Enin, Jonathan Akpan of Ukanafun, and Idongesit Ntekpere of Ikot Ekpene/Obot Akara.
Those who voted against their own independence were Nse Essien of ONNA, Aniekan Bassey of Uruan, Aniekan Uko of Ibesikpo/Asutan, Aniefiok Denis of Etinan, Effiong Bassey of Oron/Udung Uko, Monday Eyo of Uyo, Mark Esset of Nsit Atai, David Lawrence of Eket, Asuquo Archibong or Urueofong Oruko, and Uduak Ududoh Ikot Abasi/Eastern Obolo.
Comrade Etim said with the legislative autonomy victory comes financial autonomy, and with financial autonomy comes a guarantee that “the People’s Speaker will meet the expectations of members of PASSAN without any delay”.
“As a man who has conscience, we know what Barr Onofiok Luke is capable of doing in terms of ensuring the remittance of our pending allowances and we know that as he has promised in the past, he will meet those expectations now. He is a man who always stand against injustice and we trust he will stand on our side”.
The post Legislative Autonomy: AKHA PASAN thanks Buhari, hail Speaker Onofiok Luke appeared first on The Killer Punch News.

READ ALSO:  Akwa Ibom: Street Trading In Uyo Metropolis: A Cause For Concern.

Comment on this article


What do you think of this post?
  • Awesome ()
  • Interesting ()
  • Useful ()
  • Boring ()
  • Sucks ()



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.